Conna Bingo takes place every Tuesday night at 8:30 pm.

It is always a great night’s entertainment and of course attractive jackpots can be won.

Present Bingo sub-committee (2015)

Chairperson: Margaret Walsh and Frances Twomey
Committee: Pa Barry, Pat Hickey, Margaret Walsh, Bridie Hamilton, Marie Noonan, Sheila O’Leary, Frances Twomey and Laura Fickweiler.
Shop staff: Jody Morrison, Paddy O’Leary, Eugene Hurley, Patrick Hickey, Michael Joyce and John Finn.

The history of Bingo in Conna

On Tuesday November 4th 1986 Bingo was first held in Conna Muintir Hall. By the end of the year the enterprise was actually making a profit at a time when losses were still expected.
The original committee comprised of:
Chairman: William Kearney
Committee: John Gough, Gerard O’Mahony, Michael Lynch, Dermot O’Leary, Eamonn Daly, Anne Hayes, Paddy O’Leary, John Finn, Michael Joyce, Pat Hickey, Noel Caples, Tom Leahy (RIP), Chris Hurley and Dave Feeney.

Four Bingo sessions were held in the Sports Complex in 1987 and it became a booming business for some years, with the regular sessions being held in the Muintir Hall.

In 1993 and 1994, however, things changed as there was a lot of competition from other Bingo venues with huge jackpots and this impacted on attendances in Conna. However, due to the hard work and enthusiasm of the succeeding committees, Bingo continues to attract its loyal patrons who look forward to Tuesday nights in Conna.

The following are the Chairpersons who succeeded William Kearney; Gerard O’Mahony, Dermot O’Leary, John Gough, Patrick Leahy (RIP), Bridie Hamilton and Chris Dinneen.