Conna Bowls Club

Portlaoise bowls group 001

Brief history of Conna Bowls Club

Conna Community Council was initially responsible for introducing short mat indoor bowling to Conna. Its Sports and Promotion Sub-Committee, under the chairmanship of Dermot O’Leary, were looking at ways of making full use of the facilities available in the Sports Complex and in 1990 they decided to check out indoor bowling and see what it entailed.
On 7th October 1991, a formal meeting was held and the Conna Bowls Club was formed. The following were elected: Chairman – Fr. Denis Stritch, Vice-Chairman – Dave Feeney, Treasurer – Joe Eaton, Assistant Treasurer – Barry Rumley, Secretary – Tom Finn, P.R.O. – Derek Feeney. Committee Members Sheila O’Leary, Helen Lane, Jerry Hennessy, Dermot O’Leary and Mick Lynch.
The first A.G.M. of the Conna Bowls Club was held on 28th September 1992 and Fr. Denis Stritch was elected Chairman, Dave Feeney as Vice –Chairman, Secretary-Tom Finn, Treasurer-Joe Eaton, P.R.O. Helen Lane and club delegates-Michael O’Regan & Dave Feeney.
Since the A.G.M. the club has gone from strength to strength and continues to be involved in all the activities of the Cork Zone whether in competitions or administration.

Club’ s Elected Officers (2015-2016)

Chairman:                         Liam Hannigan
Vice-Chairman:             Paddy O’Leary
Secretary:                         Tom Finn
Assistant Secretary:   John Martin
Treasurer:                         Bridie Hamilton
P.R.O.:                                  Adrian Tanner
Captain:                             Mary Scanlan
Vice-Captain:                  Pat Hogan
Selectors:                          Adrian Tanner, John Martin & Billy Dinneen
Delegates:                        Paddy O’Leary and Liam Hannigan


Zone Executive

Conna Club member Noeleen Tanner is Hon. Secretary of the Cork Zone Executive 2015/’16


Adrian Tanner is Cork Sports Personality for Indoor Bowls 2015

Adrian received his award at the Cork Indoor Sports Association Dinner which was held in the Gresham Metropole Hotel on Friday 17th April, 2015.
This has been a great season for Adrian. He was a member of the Irish selection that won the British Isles Short Mat Bowls Championships and ‘A’ series. The matches were played at the Llanelli Leisure Centre in Wales on Saturday 15th and Sunday 16th November 2014. This is an annual tournament which features Scotland, England, Wales, Ireland and the Isle of Man. Adrian was the only player selected from the Cork Zone of the IIBA.


Club’s Info

Club nights are Thursdays and Sundays 8pm-10pm.
New members are always welcome.

For more information please contact Tom Finn at or call him on 0862149601


Recent Results

St. Vincent’s Triples Competition Final  (17/05/2015)                                                             

WINNERS:           Noeleen Tanner,  John Martin & Adrian Tanner (Conna)

RUNNERS UP:     Fred Prince,  Paddy O’Leary  & Bill Dineen (Conna)

JOINT Third:         Pat White, Tony O’Shea & Marie Triggs (Midleton)

Emily Fitzgerald,  John Fitzgerald & Paul Smyth (Youghal)

Crosshaven Ladies & Gents Singles Competitions (Crosshaven, 10/05/2015)

LADIES SINGLES                       GENTS SINGLES

WINNER:                                         Maria Triggs (Middleton)            Adrian Tanner (Conna)

RUNNER UP:                                Carmel Eadie (Bishopstown)      Conor Middleton (Crosshaven)

BEATEN SEMI- FINALISTS      Ann Casey (Crosshaven)             Con Middleton (Crosshaven)                                                                                            Grainne Murphy (Crosshaven)    Liam Conlon (Watergrasshill)


Carrigaline Community Fours Competition (26/04/2015)

WINNERS:            U. Harper Smith D. Cliff P. Hogan & B. Dineen (Conna)

RUNNERS UP:    M. Barry  J. Williams  B. Moloney  &  C. Eadie  (Bishopstown)

JOINT 3RD               R. Canty  M. Keohane  C. O’Connell &  M Canty  (Glenview)

O’Connell  B. Yelverton  D. Foley & A. O’Connell (The Hut)

Results of Martha Treacy Cup Competition (Rochestown 11/04/2015)
Section 1 Final
Eithne Linehan, Alice O’Donoghue, Jerry Murphy & Jerry O’Donoghue (Ballincollig GAA) beat Tom Finn, Michael Lane, Ber Feeney & Adrian Tanner (Conna).